New Year’s Resolutions In The Emergent Battles

These are just some of my resolutions as the new year approaches.  I am just one person, one insignificant Nazarene among many.  I pray that you will join me in these resolutions to carry on the fight against what is coming into our denomination.  We are nothing of our own strength, but with God, all things are possible.

Resolved: That I will continue to trust in the Bible, as the inerrant and infallible revelation of God to man, and as the sole and only reliable authoritative word for our Christian faith and practice.  I will continue to encourage all Christians to trust in God’s word only, and reject completely the emergent disrespect for God’s inspired word.

2 Tim. 3:16-17  All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness,  that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

Having affirmed the above resolution, I will also fight with all my strength, those in the Nazarene church and universities who are trying to undermine the biblical doctrine of scriptural inerrancy; those who teach that Adam and Eve, and the flood, and many other accounts in the Bible, are just allegory; I will fight and expose those who are trying to cast doubt on God’s word in the minds of thousands of college students; and those who are trying to elevate man’s reasoning to equality with the revealed word of God.

Ephesians 5:6-11 Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. Therefore do not be partners with them. For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord. Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them.

Resolved: To pass on to unbelievers the clear and true gospel given to us by Jesus and the apostles, without any embellishment or any watering down of what God has revealed to us in His word, and without any “purpose-driven” or other gimmicks to get them into church.  I resolve to tell the hard truths that Jesus Himself spoke, at the cost of any popularity that I may lose.  And I realize I will be doing it at a cost, because that is exactly what we are told will happen if we stand for the truth of God’s word.

2 Timothy 3:12-14 In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil men and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived. But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it,

Resolved: In fighting the emergent church, the G12 movement, and other unbiblical movements, I resolve not to let personal attacks get me off track in this mission.  I will ignore the attacks of the false teachers in our midst and continue warning all others about their heretical teachings.  I understand these personal attacks against those who defend the truth are nothing more than Satan’s distractions and attempts to discourage us and cast doubt in our minds.  I will also patiently witness to those who have been deceived, and use the scriptures to show them the truth, and expose the falsehoods of these dangerous movements and of these dangerous false prophets.

Romans 16:17-18 I urge you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people.

Resolved: To spend no more time in arguing with emergent false teachers within our denomination, and instead focus on bringing their teachings into the light of scripture, until they are forced to explain their ideologies to everyone openly and honestly- if they can use the scriptures to justify themselves, not their personal arguments.  I will ask God to give me the gentleness and patience I need when necessary, and to give me the backbone to rebuke them when that is called for.

2 Tim 2:23-26 Don’t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels. And the Lord’s servant must not quarrel; instead, he must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful. Those who oppose him he must gently instruct, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth, and that they will come to their senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken them captive to do his will.

Resolved: To work hard at exposing one of the biggest misuses of scripture: “Judge not, that ye be not judged”, knowing that this is a ploy by false teachers to make Christians feel guilty about being discerning and becoming aware of false prophets.  We ARE called to judge, but to judge righteously.  We ARE called to expose false teachers, and name names if needed, and I will do my best to encourage every Christian to be a Berean in this coming year, and call out those who are deliberately spreading the false gospel of the emergent church, G12, and other destructive movements.  We have an absolute responsibility to warn others; it is not an option.

Ezekiel 33:1-6 1 Again the word of the LORD came to me, saying, 2 “Son of man, speak to the children of your people, and say to them: ‘When I bring the sword upon a land, and the people of the land take a man from their territory and make him their watchman, 3 when he sees the sword coming upon the land, if he blows the trumpet and warns the people, 4 then whoever hears the sound of the trumpet and does not take warning, if the sword comes and takes him away, his blood shall be on his own head. 5 He heard the sound of the trumpet, but did not take warning; his blood shall be upon himself. But he who takes warning will save his life. 6 But if the watchman sees the sword coming and does not blow the trumpet, and the people are not warned, and the sword comes and takes any person from among them, he is taken away in his iniquity; but his blood I will require at the watchman’s hand.’

Resolved: To continue to ask our leaders for answers to the questions that have been raised in so many churches worldwide.  To ask our Holiness Today editor for clear statements in explaining what is so good about the emergent church movement.  I will ask our leaders why is it that Concerned Nazarenes were promised a statement right after the General Assembly regarding the emergent church, yet we are still waiting for one.  To ask why are we going down this path, yet at the same time, why so many are being kept in the dark about this movement that is supposedly good for all.  We need to know.

Hosea 4:6  my people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.

Resolved: To try in my own small way to help those who are fighting these false movements worldwide.  I will do my part this coming year, to encourage as many Nazarenes as possible, and other Christians, to band together like never before and join in fighting the heresies that have taken hold of so many churches and universities.  I resolve to do my part in making this a worldwide movement of Christians to warn as many brothers and sisters as possible.

Jude 3 Beloved, when I gave all diligence to write unto you of the common salvation, it was needful for me to write unto you, and exhort you that ye should earnestly contend for the faith which was once delivered unto the saints.

These are just a few resolutions that I have committed myself to for next year.  It is not an oath I am taking; it is simply an affirmation of just a few of our biblically commanded responsibilities as Christians.  I am just one little Christian in a sea of Christians asking questions, and this coming year, we want answers to those questions.  We want to know why so many faithful Christian families’s lives have been severely disrupted by such a “wonderful” movement called the emergent church.  And why so many Nazarenes have been poisoned in their minds with the new Bible of the emergent church that is filled with blasphemies and heresies, “The Shack”.  And why so many Nazarenes have been deceived by phony mystical practices used to “experience” God, when all that is sufficient is the scriptures to guide us.

For those on our Concerned Nazarene Facebook group, I would like to issue the following challenge: to tell as many concerned Nazarenes about our group, and if they are as concerned as you are, please encourage them to join.  Not because we can have a bigger group for the sake of size; but as we grow, that means more people are sharing their concerns; more of us are encouraged by seeing new members; and more of these new members will learn about new resources, and information, that will help them fight the battle.  Their testimony will also serve as an encouragement to many others.  We have seen that time and again here.  We truly need to go global in this endeavor, because it is a global problem, and we ought to be concerned about our fellow Christians worldwide. Let’s welcome concerned Nazarenes and other Christians from all over the world in the coming year!  We will be heard, my friends!  If you want to join the group, here is the link:  Concerned Nazarenes.

We know that God has already won; we just don’t know the exact details of how He will carry out His victory.  We do believe, unlike many emergents do, that He is sovereign, He knows the future, and certainly, He DOES NOT make mistakes!  But knowing He is the victor over Satan, however, does not take away our responsibility to be alert, to be watchmen, and to warn our fellow brothers and sisters.  I encourage you to keep doing this every day, and keep trusting in Jesus.

He is Lord.

8 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions In The Emergent Battles

  1. Amen and Amen. We are Free methodists that could have written this piece. We have had to leave our denomination because of all of the things mentioned here. We felt like there was no where else to turn for fellowship with other believers. We say believers because we don’t want to be associated with those who do not hold to the word of Our Lord and Savior. It has been heart wrenching as the pastor of our local church is my husband’s brother-in-law and of Calvinist belief. This is some of what has happen in the Free
    Methodist church, they have allow so many people of Calvinist belief to hold positions and introduce that ideology to permeate Wesleyan theology that there is so much conflict of doctrine that anything is allowed to have a say. I don’t believe in eternal security or once saved always saved. I believe that is the most important point, free will and our ability to walk away from Our Savior. He is Holy Holy Holy. All other messages are false gospel. The Holiness churches are being slowing desensitized to the evil of the emergent , purpose driven ,willow creeked contemplative, church growth movements. It is heart breaking. All we need is His inerrent Word for our lives not scores of someone else’s opinon. Thank you for this post I am sure God lead us to this post.
    In Christ
    Beth

  2. Hi Beth,
    Thank you for the encouragement of your words, it helps all who are in this battle against the false gospels being spread. I thank God for yet another testimony of faithfulness to His word- which is inerrant and totally trustworthy.

    I felt a bit alone last year as this movement crept in and many would not listen to the warnings, but God is good, and He brings others into your life who serve to be of great encouragement. The past year was one of great turmoil in our lives and many others we have met, yet it has been a year full of more blessings than I have ever had before, and a stronger faith and trust in God.

    And all the credit and honor and glory goes to God for that!

    Blessings to you, and our prayers are with you,

    Manny

  3. Beth,

    Reading your post was most heart wrenching, as I myself was raised “Free Methodist” for over 20 years. Then on to the Nazarene Church, and now Baptist.

    And let me say (in my humble opinion) that there are a lot of messed up Baptist Churches out there that I wouldn’t be caught dead in.

    I regretfully watched my childhood Church come to nothing! It all started in the 80’s when the preacher converted everyone to the old NIV (now obsolete). No, let me restate that, it all started when the professors converted the unsuspecting bible student, the preacher, to a disbelief in absolute authority. A very sad reality that is now the fabric of the faith.

    The church is moving away from the truth giving heed to doctrines of devils. Calling it a Paradigm shift; the new fusion.

    History does repeat itself.

    The church has literally been tempted to question what God has said, with her eyes on the fruit to make one wise. What an alibi to sin; “I just want something easier to understand.” Only the devil could be that sly and cunning.

    If Jesus Christ is the second Adam, and he is, then the Bride of Christ is the second EVE!

    Don’t repeat her sin!

    Additionally, the Bible, as a whole teaches eternal security both ways! But most people will not study to find out why.
    And the last thing I want to do here is to divert from the subject Manny is dealing with.

    However, believing a Bible doctrine like eternal security is not specifically Calvinist. The five points of John Calvin are dangerous for anyone.

    Someone who believes in eternal security is not the enemy in your world, not anymore! He may just be sent from God to help. His position on the word of God which the Nazarene Church refuses to address (because they are changing it) will determine the heart of the matter.

    The rotten fruit of rejecting God’s word is manifesting itself everywhere as the church “falls away.”

    By their fruits ye shall know them!

    Baptist Churches are prone to Calvinist infiltrators, usually not Free Methodist, that’s a new one on me.

    Steve Sumner

  4. As a third generation Nazarene, I always thought you could lose your salvation until I learned how to rightly divide the Word of God.

    It is the common belief that every part of the Bible is to be interpreted directly as referring to the Church of God; or as pertaining to every person, at every stage of the world’s history. This neglect of the precept to rightly divide it is an effectual bar to the right understanding of it, and to our enjoyment in its study. This non-understanding of the Word is the explanation of its neglect, and this neglect is the reason why so many who should be feeding on the spiritual food of the Word are so ill-fed in themselves; and so ill-furnished for every good work (II Tim. 3:17). While the Word of God is written for all persons, and for all time, yet it is as true that not every part of it is addressed to all persons or about all persons in all time. {by E.W. Bullinger}

    The key in scripture that will clear up all confusion, if one will simply believe what one reads, is found in 2 Timothy 2:15 Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

    While those who believe in “falling from grace” are clear that good works cannot earn salvation, they teach that salvation is kept by good works. Thus one gets saved by grace, but thereafter salvation can be lost by works. To teach that good works keep salvation is almost the same error as to say that good works earn salvation. It denies grace to say that once I have been saved by grace I must thereafter keep myself saved by works.

    If those who are saved could lose their salvation, then they must by their own actions keep themselves saved. If that is true, then those who stay saved and get to heaven will be able to boast that they played a key role in their salvation: Christ saved them but they kept themselves saved. On the contrary, no man can take any credit for his salvation.

    A born again child of God can not lose salvation. However, he can lose his assurance, his joy, testimony, rewards, health, inheritance and his life.

    We have an absolute Scripture (KJV), an absolute Saviour (Jesus Christ), an absolute Salvation (by grace through faith, not of works or self), and it’s absolutely Secure!

    I believe the Holy Spirit has led me to a better understanding of God’s Word through my studies so I can better confront the efforts of the emergent church movement.

  5. Brad White,
    You do not know how much what you have written has meant to me. I always believed I could lose my Salvation and that I could lose it without even knowing it, if I weren’t really careful. However, I too, found when I truly began to search out God’s Word, that I CANNOT lose my Salvation. I felt joy and such comfort when I found that truth. Here’s the Scripture that really hit home for me.
    John 10:27-29 (King James Version)

    27My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:
    28And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.
    29My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.
    We are redeemed when we are Saved, and there is no such thing as becoming unredeemed!!!

    All I can say is that we need to stand against the false message coming into our churches and that means we have to know God’s Word and we have to study as you quoted in 2 Timothy 2:15. Yes, and Pray, Pray and Pray.

  6. Hello to all,
    Manny once again thank you for your posts. I feel we can get bogged down on semantics. I purposely didn’t use the phase “lose my salvation”. Jesus is the Only Savior. To pronounce anything else is in error of the The Word. However, I said I do believe in free will and backsliding. This is why I must continually work out my salvation Phillipians chapter 2. I was raised in the Lutheran church and became a born from above believer while attending the Free Methodist Church. However I did not understand what entire sanctification was until I read the Bible from that point of view. From Genesis to Revelation there are examples of people who have believed God and then backslidden.
    “Regeneration takes you out of the world, Sanctification takes the world out of you” W.B.Godbey. This is only done by Jesus. I also believe I can choose to believe that God or Jesus even exists. I believe that He created within every living person a desire to know Him and believe in Him. But since sin entered the world, that has become more and more difficult. We are commanded to teach our children about the Lord. Each generation falls away a little more. It is like the telephone game, you start with the original message and by the third person it has already changed. We must be very careful with the Word of God. I think fear of the Lord is a good thing. I really didn’t mean to go down the path of losing or not losing salvation. I simply meant to offer another view of what I saw happening in local churches. That these false teachings have entered from somewhere and they need to be exposed. I think at least in the FMC, they were like the Israelites when they cried out to God, “Everyone else has a King we want one too.” The FMC saw all the other denominations grow by leaps and bounds and felt left behind. Anyway, I think that we should be the watchmen on the wall. Thank you all for your commitment to Christ.
    In Christ,
    Beth

  7. Any tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and burned up. So you must recognize them by their fruits. Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will get into the kingdom of heaven, but only those who practice doing the will of my Father in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, was it not in your name that we prophesied, and in your name that we drove out demons, and in you name that we did many wonder-works?’ And then I will say to them openly, ‘I never knew you at all. Go away from me, you who practiced doing wrong.'” Matthew 7:19-23

    Produce, then, fruit that is consistent with the repentance that you profess . . .
    Now the axe is already lying at the roots of the trees. Every tree then, that fails to bear good fruit is to be cut down and thrown into the fire.” Luke 3:8a & 9

    No one who continues to live in union with Him practices sin. No one who practices sin has ever seen Him or come to know Him. Dear children, avoid letting anyone lead you astray. Whoever practices doing right is upright, just as He is upright. Whoever practices sin belongs to the devil, because the devil has practiced sin from the beginning.
    No one who is born of God makes a practice of sinning, because the God-given life-principle continues to live in him, and so he cannot practice sinning, because he is born of God. This is the way to distinguish God’s children from the devil’s children. 1 John 3:6-8a & 9-10a

  8. Twoclayfeet,

    One reason these scriptures are sometimes hard to understand is that the command to study has been removed from every new version of the Bible. The KEY verse for understanding scripture is found in Paul’s admonition to young Timothy:

    2Ti 2:15 (kjv) Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

    Now the Bible is a Jewish book. The Old testament, briefly, gives us the beginning of God’s creation, the giving of the law, and the beginning and fall of the Kingdom. That was mail to the nation of Israel. Matthew, Mark, Luke and John, span the lifetime of Jesus Christ. His ministry was to Israel.

    But he answered and said, I am not sent but unto the lost sheep of the house of Israel. Matthew 15:24

    The Gospels are God’s mail to the Jews at the time of Christ. They were still under the old testament law. The “new testament” (not the books) is put in force at the ressurection of Christ. It is based upon a “new” covenant. When Jesus and John came they preached the “Gospel of the kingdom” What was that?

    From that time Jesus began to preach, and to say, Repent: for the kingdom of heaven is at hand. Matthew 4:17

    Is that what Paul preached? No. So, who was Paul? Should we believe him over Jesus? The questions are real.

    Paul was the “apostle to the Gentiles”. (That’s us!)

    For I speak to you Gentiles, inasmuch as I am the apostle of the Gentiles, I magnify mine office: Romans 11:13

    Jesus’ earthly ministry was to the Nation of Israel. That is important. It is not to be overlooked. It is part of “rightly dividing the word of truth”.

    That one fact, “rightly dividing” will open up the scriptures for you. Let’s make it simple.

    Paul tells us

    For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast. Eph 2:8.
    Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost; Titus 3:5

    James says

    Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. 18 Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works. 19 Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble. 20 But wilt thou know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead? 21 Was not Abraham our father justified by works, when he had offered Isaac his son upon the altar? 22 Seest thou how faith wrought with his works, and by works was faith made perfect? James 2:17-22

    Are these men contradicting each other? How can we tell. Let’s go back to our illustration.

    Remember who Paul is: His ministry is to the Gentiles.

    According to the first verse in the book of James, the mail recipients were the 12 tribes of Israel.

    James, a servant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ, to the twelve tribes which are scattered abroad, greeting. James 1:1

    When you are reading James, you are reading a book addressed to the 12 tribes which were scattered abroad. The book will apply DOCTRINALLY in the tribulation. In other words in the tribulation they will be required to maintain good works. That doesn’t mean that we cannot profit from James. On the contrary, Paul tells us:

    All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: 2Timothy 3:16

    That simply means that while a passage may apply doctrinally, (What it actually teaches to the intended audience) it can also reprove us, correct us and give us instruction in righteousness. However we cannot take it’s doctrinal content as applying directly to us or we will be confused.

Comments are closed.