Do I Worship The Same God As Emergents Worship?

Emergents worship a god who is imperfect and learns from his mistakes.  I worship a God who is sovereign and never stumbles.

“Great is our Lord, and of great power: His understanding is infinite” Psalm 147:5

Emergents worship a god who does not know the future.  I worship a God who knew me before I was born, and whose prophesies are always right.

“Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD…All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” Psalm 139:4, 16

Emergents say we should not judge (even though they do), and scold others who dare to point out the obvious, unbiblical errors of their theology and “doctrine”.  I obey Jesus’s commands to beware of false prophets, and the apostle’s teaching that we should be like the Bereans and hold everything up to the light of scripture.

“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. By their fruit you will recognize them.” Matthew 7:15-20

“These were more fair-minded than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness, and searched the Scriptures daily to find out whether these things were so.”  Acts 17:11

Emergents believe we need to accommodate and change according to the culture, in order to reach the post-modern world.  I believe that we need to bring the gospel to all people and all cultures, and allow the unchanging gospel to change them.

“For if I preach the gospel, I have nothing to boast of, for necessity is laid upon me; yes, woe is me if I do not preach the gospel!”  1 Cor. 9:16

Emergents have compared God with the modalistic, magician-like god of that blasphemous emergent bible, The Shack.  My God is the “one God in three persons” revealed in the Holy Bible, and He will always be addressed with fear, reverence and complete respect.

“Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.” Deuteronomy 6:4

Emergents believe that “relationships” and “community” are the key to bring people into the Kingdom.  I believe that the gospel is the only effective and true way to bring people into the Kingdom.

“For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek. For in it the righteousness of God is revealed from faith to faith; as it is written,  “The just shall live by faith.”  Romans 1:16-17

Emergents believe the church is for the unbelievers.  The church is for the body of Christ, who are to feed on God’s word so they can bring the gospel to the unbelievers.

“For as the body is one and has many members, but all the members of that one body, being many, are one body, so also is Christ. For by one Spirit we were all baptized into one body—whether Jews or Greeks, whether slaves or free—and have all been made to drink into one Spirit.”  1 Cor. 12:12-13

Emergents cast doubt on the Holy word of God, and call it a book of “stories” or “narratives” whose meaning changes based on the whims of our changing culture.  I trust in God’s everlasting and unchanging word completely, and believe in it’s inerrancy and timeless truths for all cultures.

“For ever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven” Psalms 119:89

Emergents trust the fancy and scholarly words of skeptical professors in order to learn what the Bible “might” be saying to them.  I trust completely the “God-breathed” words of the scriptures to teach me what is right, and to keep me on the narrow road.

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”  Psalm 119:105

Emergents do not like to preach or hear sermons on sin and repentance and eternal damnation.  We (especially unbelievers) need to hear ALL the hard truths, that we were born totally worthless sinners in the eyes of God, undeserving of anything but punishment, but by the grace He offered us we are made righteous.

“For I have not shunned to declare to you the whole counsel of God.” Acts 20:27

Emergents will sometimes close their churches on a Sunday, and go around fixing neighborhoods without preaching the gospel.  I believe our churches should remain open for the brethren to be fed God’s word, and that we not forget that all our righteousness and good deeds, by themselves, is as filthy rags in the eyes of God.

“For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in Him of Whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?”  Romans 10:13-14

Emergents say they rely on scripture to guide them, but we must balance that with experience, tradition, and reasoning.  I depend on and trust only one source completely: God’s infallible holy Word.  All other sources can and will fail.

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness”  2 Tim. 3:16

Emergents need to bring in pagan rituals and contemplative prayer (extra-biblical methods of prayer) in order to pray to God and “experience” Him in a “deeper” way than we’ve ever experienced.  There is only one way prescribed by the Bible to pray.  Prayer is comprehensible communication with God, not a mystical meditation.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”  Philippians 4:6

“The entirety of Your word is truth, And every one of Your righteous judgments endures forever.” Psalm 119:160

2 responses to “Do I Worship The Same God As Emergents Worship?

  1. “Emergents worship a god who does not know the future. I worship a God who knew me before I was born, and whose prophesies are always right.”

    Manny,

    How does this fit in with the Wesleyan teaching of Free Will?

  2. Hi Glenda,
    I don’t compare the Bible with Wesleyen teaching and see if it lines up with Wesley. I look first and foremost to what the Bible teaches, and go from there. I trust the scriptures above all men, and the Bible teaches me that very statement that you quoted.

    God did know me before I was born, and His prophesies are always right. Do you agree?

Comments are closed.