Real Nazarenes: Part 2

“I am afraid many people have allowed the denomination to become their idol rather than taking a stand for Truth.”


I agree with that statement, sadly.  What about you?  Have you made the Nazarene denomination your idol?  Think about that question, as you read a few more testimonies from Nazarenes (some former).

I loved the Nazarene denomination because I felt it was the closest denomination to the Word of God.  My grandparents and parents were active faithful members.  I grew up as an active, proud member of the Nazarene church and went to a Nazarene University where I met my husband.  He was also a third generation Nazarene.  We raised our 3 children in the church.  One of our daughters went to a Nazarene University and our son went to the Nazarene Bible College.  It was heartbreaking to have to leave the Nazarene church due to the denomination embracing evil practices and not believing in the infallible Word of God.  Through it all I discovered that I love God and His Word more than any denomination.  I am afraid many people have allowed the denomination to become their idol rather than taking a stand for Truth.  God’s Word is the only real truth we have to stand on in this evil world.  Praise God for His love and faithfulness to us.  My husband and I are very active in a Bible believing church where people are being saved every week and all of our children and grandchildren are loving and serving the Lord – but not in a Nazarene church – how sad.
Deena Triggs


I am a real Nazarene.  I  am the daughter of a farmer in Oklahoma,  My dad was called to preach when I was about 4 yrs old.  My Dad went to college at Bethany-Penile College for two years (although he already had a couple of degrees) and graduated in 1950.  Then he began pastoring in the Church of the Nazarene. He pastored two churches  in Oklahoma before we moved to Texas to start a new church which was never got off the ground.  He then accepted a church in
Texas.
I was saved at the age of 5 in a church at the Bethany College church in a revival.  I have been involved in the church for 62 or so years.  I have played the piano, organ and keyboard as my service to our Lord.  I was on the church board many years and helped in many areas.

When I realized that the church was teaching and allowing to be promoted that the Bible is not the inerrant word of God in all things I was very upset. I believe it is inerrant in all things from it’s original transcripts. I began searching and learning what was happening.  I saw in our local church the new teachings that do not match up with the scripture. The Nazarene church is going along with false doctrines and not standing up against them.  Our own pastor did not believe that all the Bible was the inerrant word of God….he called it literature.  I had to leave. I do not believe in these new teachings and could not stand to hear it or support it.  They are adding to the word of God, and practicing things that are from all kinds of religions.  If God’s Word does not teach it, I do not think we should either.

I pray for my friends and family that still attend that they will not be deceived.  It is so deceptive.  Most do not want to know or hear about it, but God will not be mocked.  His Word is Truth.
Virginia Bowen


I am a “Cradle Nazarene”, having been taken to the church of the Nazarene of which my parents were charter members when I was one week old.  That has now been more than 77 years ago.  It was in the Church of the Nazarene that I was taught about the love of God, the wrath of God, and the plan of salvation, including the second work of grace, heart holiness and scriptural advice and admonitions for holy living.  It was in the church that, as a young child, I first came to know Christ, and it was in the church that I was encouraged through the years when I needed spiritual encouragement and prayer.  Christ was first and foremost – over personal pleasures and ambitions.  So – several years ago, I began to hear about, and personally know of through trusted friends, about the “trend” in the Christian church, including the Church of the Nazarene, of this deceptive movement known as the Emergent Church Movement.  It has been very disturbing. I have observed also that the message of heart holiness is not being proclaimed as strongly as it once was.  I have seen a number of emergent practices publicly admitted to by a pastor in a COTN that we previously attended in a different location from which we now live.  And I have heard from many friends about experiences in their churches where this deceptive philosophy is being promoted and practiced. And I am personally aware of “Bible” studies that are actually not Bible studies at all, but sessions on books written by emergent authors.   Yes – I will speak out against the emergent movement without feeling that I am being divisive.  I want others to be aware of what is happening and hopefully, avoid falling prey to it.
Margerete Gilroy

 

I gave my life to the Lord at North East Nazarene Camp the year after I was in fourth grade and totally committed my life as a teen. My grandparents, John and Lilly Wetzel started Lavelle Church of the Nazarene (name changed) in their home. …My parents, Tom and Muriel Wetzel have given their entire lives to the Lord and were managers of North East Camp for 18 years and my mom was Phila. district missionary president for ? years. I had great examples of what a Christian should be, which helped me make my decision. We have stayed with the Nazarene church despite many bumps in the road, because we agree with the doctrine. I don’t know how much longer we will stay if the church gets off the right track!
Sandra Sands

 

A REAL Nazarene…what is that….one who joins the church…one who teaches a class (possibly using “emergent” materials)…one who warms a pew on Sunday buts sees nothing wrong with getting a little drunk on Saturday nite….one who puts …a token 20 in the offering plate…or one who holds true to the holiness tradition and understands what that means! Unfortunately I am no longer a member of the Nazarene church…but I am a third generation Nazarene (both from Dad & Mom). One grandfather was a pastor who started many churches in 3 states. The other helped start a Nazarene church in his hometown. Both my parents were born into the Nazarene church and faithfully served in the church. I attended both ENC & ONU (graduate). I was on the same track…until…something just wasn’t right about materials being used and the lack of holiness preaching. My husband & I found what was missing at the local Wesleyan church. Strong Holiness preaching at a church busting at the seams (1999 – less than 100; 2011 over 2,000 and 4 additional “network” churches). You know there has been talk for years about the two merging…maybe I’ll become a Nazarene Wesleyan? Unfortunately “emergent” garbage is in all denominations, you just have to find a church that avoids it.
Shirley Hunsberger Schindel

 

I am a Nazarene elder, but I am considering changing my ordination to the Wesleyan church over the issue of Scriptural Inerrancy. I’m a small church pastor with little influence. I support the stand the CNs are taking, but I need to go where I can serve God best.
Anthony Scott Rose

 

Even the government thinks I’m a real Nazarene. I left after 41 years because of what was entering my local congregation and what I saw popping up in denominational publications, but like my wife, I still love what the church was and continue in prayer for her. The government line…I still have my Army dog tags showing Nazarene on them.
James Scullin

 

I am a real Nazarene. I am (at least) a third generation Nazarene, dedicated, baptized, and married in the Nazarene church. We are raising our daughter to be the fourth Nazarene generation in our family. I am a member in good standing at Ne…w Hope Community Church in Chandler, AZ. I head up a special outreach ministry making prayer shawls for those struggling with different life situations. I am also on the Arizona/Southern Nevada Women’s Ministry Council and serve as the Publicity Chairperson of that council.
Janessa Osborne

 

I am certainly “credentialed” in the CotN, but found out I was “Nazarene” in my beliefs decades before actually becoming one on paper. I was raised in the Presbyterian Church until coming to know Christ personally (age 11), then predominant…ly attended Baptist, Church of God (Anderson), and AoG churches throughout most of my Air Force career.

18 years ago, I attended my first Nazarene church in SW Texas, and fell in love with a bunch of good, godly and holy Nazarenes.  They were the ones who affirmed my calling into full0time pastoral ministry.  Since then, I’ve never found a denomination I could or would more readily align myself with- no other denomination, in my experience, more clearly advances Wesleyan-Arminian holiness the way the CotN does.

My heartbreak comes when I see so many leaders within the denomination I so dearly love so eagerly “abandon the faith and follow deceiving spirits and things taught by demons.” (1 Timothy 4:1).  And even worse, they are leading others down that same path of destruction.  There are times I feel like a very small fish in the pond, but I will remain faithful to the people God has called me to lead and serve- they will know and will hear God’s Word.
John A. Roberts

 

 

I am a Nazarene. I don’t contribute to the site often but I check it and read what has been posted every day. Thank you all so much. I love the denomination and pray that God will undertake and stop what is going on. If it is not too late!
Esther White Korpics

 

I am a 3rd generation Nazarene and my kids are the 4th generation. 18 months ago we almost left the Nazarene church. We were part of a church plant that is now going emergent. Gave 8 years to building the ministry but could no longer go along with the direction.  We were able to return to our planting church and have become involved once again in the ministry there.
Darren Krauter

2 responses to “Real Nazarenes: Part 2

  1. I was raised Nazarene and attended all through my childhood until going off to Bethany Nazarene College. I attended and contributed to my local church while living in Vidor, TX and then after moving to Nederland got involved in Port Arthur Grace Church. My husband had been a Baptist deacon and wanted to return to the Baptist denomination so I of course followed him. I have to say “Thank God” I was out of the way when all the dissension began over the emergent Church. My family once all strong Nazarenes are now divided in their beliefs and there seem to be hard feelings by my sister who is still active in the Nazarene Church. She sees nothing wrong with the inclusion of meditation and the other practices that have been promoted in her church. Looking at this from the outside has given me a more neutral viewpoint. I will always be thankful to the Church of the Nazarene and all the saints who prayed for me. Without them I would never have given my life to Christ. I fought them tooth and nail as it was. Thanks to everyone who loved me enough to raise my name to Heaven and ask the Lord to try again. I suppose that in my heart no matter where I attend I have always considered myself a Nazarene. I pray that will not have to change due to the direction they are taking.

  2. I have frequently said that the Church of the Nazarene taught me nothing I had not already learned from holiness Methodists (those who still hang in there in that denomination). I came into the denomination in adulthood, so don’t have much of a vested interest. I do have children and grandchildren we have entrusted to the care of the Nazarenes and I have a reason there to hang in as long as I can. If that fails completely, I know God will take care of us in some wonderful way.

Comments are closed.