What About Logic? (and Protecting Life)

My friend Fonso (I call him my apologetics mentor) sent me this commentary and I got his permission to post it.  He addresses a topic that is always close to my heart and that I believe should be at the top of a Christian’s priority list in the world of politics and elections.

What About Logic?

Logic plays an important part in our lives and it is most often defined as “the laws of thought,” “the rules of right reasoning”, “the principles of valid argumentation,” or as Aristotle put it “Logic is the study of correct reasoning.”With that in mind, I would like to dwell on the behavior of many of my friends, family, and acquaintances that need the use of correct reasoning.

A few weeks ago there was a story in the news about a mother and her daughter walking in their neighborhood when they heard sounds of what seemed to be of a baby coming from the trash can. They immediately investigated only to find that the sounds were coming from two little puppies not more than a few hours old, placed in a plastic bag and thrown in the trash. I immediately thought of the cruelty of the person capable of such a deed. The puppies could’ve very well been given to the proper authorities, with very little effort and that would certainly resolve the problem. At this time, my mind wandered to situations where newborn babies are abandoned after a botched abortion and left to die without any care given. Using the logic Aristotle was talking about; I had to conclude that if the person that left the puppies to die in a trash can was a horrible person than it follows that a person that leaves a baby to die is an even more horrible person, because I am one who believes that a human life is infinitesimally more valuable than any animal.

I began thinking of using the puppies’ story to solicit the use of logic from my friends and family. I retold the story and asked questions such as these:

“What do you think of the person who left the puppies in the trash can?

What should be done to such a person?

The answers were inevitably that the person was evil and should be punished. At this point in the conversation I introduced the baby born alive after a botched abortion.

“What do you think of the person who is in favor of letting the baby die?

What should be done to such a person?

Feeling trapped by logic, the answers had to demonstrate at least an equal outrage lest they be called unreasonable or hypocritical. Hence the call for punishment to such a horrible person. Isn’t it funny that all of the ones that the questions were directed to voted for Barack Obama, a man who voted four times to let the baby die without care in case of a botched abortion while in the Chicago Senate. The Born Alive Infant Protection Act was brought to the Senate floor in Chicago four different times and the only senator that argued against its implementation was then Senator Obama utilizing the following reasoning: if we give recognition to a premature baby it will only, further down the road, affect the right to abortion.

And I ask. My friends, where is the logic? How can you call one a horrible person and not the other?

Recently a brother of mine and a friend were engaged in a friendly chat about the virtues of President Obama when another friend of mine approached them and asked them to explain what do they hear when they go to church. They were both avid church goers and wondered about the meaning of such a question. To which my friend replied in such a manner: in my world, Christianity is incompatible with abortion. It’s illogical to be a Christian that believes that life comes from God and humans are created in His image and then be enthralled by someone who supports abortion on demand in its most horrible form, a last trimester partial birth abortion or even worse, if that’s possible, allowing a baby born alive to die unattended.

And I ask. My friends, where is the logic? How can you be for one and at the same time be for another who is totally opposed?

I have siblings that adore the moral values of my late father. He was adamantly opposed to abortion and homosexuality was unthinkable in his views. And I’m certain that most of those reading this will also agree with me that this is the case in relation to their fathers. But, in my siblings’ case, while adoring the values of my father they eagerly support politicians in the Democrat Party that have as their platform abortion on demand and homosexual marriage.

And I ask. My friends, where is the logic? How can you love the values of your father and then choose to follow someone who believes the opposite?

We have a nation that in 200 years became the most powerful nation in the world. It climbed to the top using the principles of free market and capitalism. It created the largest middle class in the world. It has the least number of poor people in the world. People from all over the world risk their lives to come here and live the American Dream. It floods the world with its technology, medical discoveries, and all around good will and charity. It has liberated millions and stood for freedom throughout the globe.

Yet, there are those that want to make it like another European nation which despite their thousands of years of existence does not even come close to this nation.

And I ask. My friends, where is the logic? How can you see something valuable in front of you and yet desire to trade it for something infinitely inferior?

Finally, there’s a real seriousness in calling ourselves Christians. When we do that we claim to identify with the Christ and His teachings. And who is this Christ? Jesus of Nazareth.

If you identify with Him, His teachings become yours and makes you the person that you are. It is asinine to pick and choose what satisfies you as if at a buffet table. We need to indulge ourselves in everything displayed at the table. When we claim to be His followers we need to have the fortitude to stand for His views and put aside the politically correct stance of the day. Truth does not change and is absolute and not relative. How can I affirm this with certainty? Because truth is a person and not an abstract idea. Jesus Himself said “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father but through Me.”

The danger in calling ourselves Christians and yet pal around with the world is found in Matthew 7: 22 and 23.  “On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’ And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’ Notice that the people that are saying Lord, Lord have done many religious things in His name, therefore this applies to many that observe religious rituals and frequent churches, but yet never made a serious commitment to be a true follower of Christ. The reply from Christ contains the most dreadful words befalling upon a person who thinks that by merely being religious or believing they are “good” is enough to save them. If being “good” could ever save a person please tell me (I’m going to once again use logic) why did Jesus ever come to this Earth and subject Himself to such horrible treatment and Death?

If you believe that by voting for the people that promise to give you everything and solve all your economic problems but yet disregard the righteousness of God is the right thing to do, you are only falling into another trap. You are switching the object of your faith – from God to the Government. When you do that, you have replaced Him with an idol, thus breaking the first commandment. He is the One who said that he’ll take care of us, clothe us and feed us. Therefore when it concerns the economy He asks us to trust in Him, but when it concerns righteousness He wants us to stand in the gap and fight against the tide of evil that inundates the earth. Where do you stand?

As for me and my house, we will trust in the Lord! Just using some logic.

Ildefonso Vasconcelos

