False Teaching In A Christian University- A Shocking Example

I recently had a request from a well known ministry that wanted some highlights of Dr. Jay McDaniel and his lecture at Northwest Nazarene University in 2008.  Since I spent a bit of time gathering some short clips for them, I decided to re-visit this and put together a more easily viewable summary, rather than suggesting that everyone watch the full 1:15 of the lecture and Q&A session.  This summary is 11 minutes, including some brief commentary.  This lecture is typical of the kind of brazen way that many of our Christian universities are going forward in welcoming false teaching of every kind; the “New Christianity”, the more “open” Christianity, where all can go to heaven by knowing Jesus within their own religion, without ever knowing it. (Not my father’s faith).

I am reading a book that was sent to me by Bill Rudge of Bill Rudge Ministries.  It’s called Not Our Father’s Faith: How Doctrines of Demons Have Invaded The Church.   I should be done with it soon, as it is a fascinating and honest look at the state of our Christian faith today.  I hope to do a review on it in the near future.  I quote him from chapter one:

“If a foundation is laid other than Christ, we most remove it before we can build on Christ- the true foundation of the Church.  If someone began building on the foundation of Christ but has fallen into beliefs or techniques contrary to Scripture, we must tear out the defective materials and replace them with materials of good quality.”

He goes on to quote Jeremiah 1:10:  “See, I have this day set you over the nations and over the kingdoms, to root out and to pull down, to destroy and to throw down, to build and to plant.”
I believe this quote, and the Scripture, pertains just as strongly and relevant to our Christian universities today as it pertains to the Church.

Please take some time to view this, especially if you have children or grandchildren, or friends who have young children, or you are possibly considering going to a Christian school.  From all I have seen and researched, this most likely will be the norm, and not the exception, for college bound Christian students in the near future.  Unless enough concerned Christians can help turn the tide, there will be very few “Christian” universities left that you can entrust to give your child a real Christian education.  Instead, you will be faced with apostate schools pretending to be Christian, dressed as wolves in sheep’s clothing.  As I have said before, young souls are at stake.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9GgRy741A8

My original post on this, and the entire lecture: https://reformednazarene.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/false-teaching-welcomed-at-northwest-nazarene-university/

24 responses to “False Teaching In A Christian University- A Shocking Example

  1. It would be shocking but its what you should expect from a false teacher like Jay McDaniel who teaches a form of Christianity which is faux Christianity.
    Why Nazarenes (or any Christian’s) still go to universities like this one and as well as Point Loma is beyond me.
    Tim

  2. Excellent concise video presentation.
    Though this lecture took place in 2006 (I think), how many more like this guest lecturer have been paraded past the captive audience of students at NNU since that time?

    And to think, churches in that district are required to pay their budgets so that NNU can pay the travel and honoraium fees for wolves like these.

    May I point out, that if anyone decides to write to NNU regarding their concerns towards guest lecturers such as Dr. McDaniels, you more than likely will get a response that indicates that the school is just trying to present other ideas so as to enhance student exposure to other worldviews for the sake of academics.

    Hmm….wonder what would happen if the Chemistry Dept. operated in that manner? Let the students taste, handle, and experiment freely with mercury, with no warnings, and no safety precautions so that they might have more of an academic and subjective experience.

    Truth is truth and isn’t open to man’s experimentation and ever-changing opinion.

    The scriptures are very clear and are written that we may know how to have eternal life.

    Why would a theology dept. play with poison amongst their students??

  3. It was in 2008. But you know, if this kind of thing does not even so much as cause a little concern amongst most pastors, DSs, laypeople, parents, then nothing will. Next will be the teaching of Santaria rituals, I suppose.

  4. Even though I realize that this type of thing is now standard fair in our universities. I am shocked anew each time I see footage like this.

    I have been told countless times that our universities are not bible schools and that they are regular liberal arts universities, provideing an education that will allow for financial betterment of their students.

    That not withstanding, we have clear instruction as Christians that we should not allow someone like this access. As a Christian we should not allow such individuals to enter our homes.

    2Jo 1:10 If there come any unto you, and bring not this doctrine, receive him not into [your] house, neither bid him God speed:

    As a Christian business person, I will not allow someone like this to enter one of my jobsites. Our universities whould not allow these individuals to enter the university grounds much the less allow them to speak to a class.

    Gal 1:8 But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed.

    Gal 1:9 As we said before, so say I now again, If any [man] preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed.

    As I watched the video clip, I could not help but to compare his lecture with the the lecture given to Eve the serpent, the similarities are striking.

    Gen 3:4 And the serpent said unto the woman, Ye shall not surely die:

    As an aside to exnazarene’ Although university support is part of the district budget. I know of at least one church on our district that is refusing to pay that portion of the budget.

  5. This is a classic example of a false teacher leading people straight to hell and away from the God of the Bible.
    This guy does not walk with Jesus at least not the Jesus of scripture.
    Rather he walks with the false jesus who was created in the minds of other false teachers such as Thomas Merton. I have read Merton since the 60’s and I can tell you with authority that Merton did not believe in the Jesus of scripture. Merton did not believe that Jesus was the way or the truth. Rather just one way.
    Author Henri Nouwen believes the same way.
    Jesus is either the only way or not.
    Notice the MO of many of these new up and coming false teachers.
    They are pretty much very gentle sounding speakers.
    They focus a lot on love.
    Not that focusing on love is bad (we ODM’s always are accused of that -that we are not loving).
    But you can never sacrifice love at the sacrifice of truth.
    You can never sacrifice love at the altar of mans self made accomidate all religion.
    But the gentle sound of these false teachers make their deception even more palatable.
    More acceptable or agreeable to the mind or feelings.
    I see this in false teacher’s Brian McLaren, Doug Pagitt (also a universalist), Rob Bell and of course the Nazarene denominations own Thomas Oord.
    Love without the truth is not really love at all because it helps send people to hell.
    It designs a god made in mans own image instead of the other way around.
    When some of these folks mention Jesus ignore them because they do not know Jesus.
    It would be like me trying to describe a friends husband or wife who I didnt really know.
    How can you describe a person without knowing the facts?
    You may be able to say that in your experience you may think the person is a nice or loving person.
    But you really would not know unless you know that person and that needs to be based on fact not just outward experience or others testimony about a person.
    The way we know the truth about God and Jesus is through His written Word about Himself.
    This is the only testimony that will be 100% accurate without error.
    And yet many people who I have named above do not believe that scripture is accurate and without error.
    And if something is not without error how can it give a acurate testimony?
    What pieces are true and which pieces are false?
    Who decides.
    Thats why we need to trust Gods Word to be without error.
    Any other way is just anyones best guess.
    Do you want to stake your eternal life on someones best guess.
    Or Gods inerrant and Infallible Word?
    I put my only hope in the Jesus who is very plainly and simply defined in the words of scripture.
    Im not basing Jesus on my feelings or emotions on what people’s redefinition of jesus is.
    Jer 17:99 “ The heart is deceitful above all things,
    And desperately wicked;
    Who can know it?
    Isaiah 5:20 accurately descibes these false teachers-
    20 Woe to those who call evil good, and good evil;
    Who put darkness for light, and light for darkness;
    Who put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter!
    Tim

  6. Manny:
    Excellent post as all of the responses. Clearly we are in a battle and no doubt some have ceased in doing what Paul challenged Timothy (as well as all of us) to continue doing, which is to “Guard the Faith”
    I Timothy [6: 20] “O Timothy! Guard what was committed to your trust, avoiding the profane and idle babbling and contridictions of what is falsely called knowledge.” Your post is a prime example of this.

    Dr. Jay McDaniel fits the mold and should be avoided. Paul sums up false teachers like him as one “Having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away! Always learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.” 2 Timothy [3:5, 7]

    The lies that are being spread as gospel is dangerous in any setting and especially in the classroom where the lines can become blurred because of the trust factor that one places in the church and our institutions. Even in the best of circumstances truth can become obscured.

    A friend of mine once said years ago, that it was easier to live a Christian life while in the Army than on a college campus because the lines were clearly drawn. That statement being true then you would think our leaders would take extra measures to guard their flock rather than throw them to the wolves.

  7. Manny; when I saw you yesterday morning, (and by the way, your comment was spot on.) I was reading the letters to the churches, because JR had made reference to them in his sermon. The letter to Thyatira spoke to me then as particularly relevant. It fits especially with this relationship between our universities and apostates.

    Rev 2:18 ¶ And unto the angel of the church in Thyatira write; These things saith the Son of God, who hath his eyes like unto a flame of fire, and his feet [are] like fine brass;

    Rev 2:19 I know thy works, and charity, and service, and faith, and thy patience, and thy works; and the last [to be] more than the first.

    Rev 2:20 Notwithstanding I have a few things against thee, because thou sufferest that woman Jezebel, which calleth herself a prophetess, to teach and to seduce my servants to commit fornication, and to eat things sacrificed unto idols.

    What I found interesting is that Thyatira was “missional” they were accomplished in good works, this is a positive. Yet these good works do not save them from Jesus’ harsh rebuke and his promise to deal with not only the false teachers, but also those whom enter relationship with them.

    Here in this video clip we see what appears to be an unholy alliance or relationship with a false teacher. While all around us we hear the deafening roar that all that matters is to be “missional”, or to do “kingdom things”. The old teaching is wrong, it is love that matters.

    I agree wholeheartedly that love matters, I agree that it more than matters, it needs to have primacy in all that we do. Jesus words to Thyatira tell us that correct teaching must accompany this love. Apostates will not receive a pass, depart from me, I never knew you.

  8. Thanks Jim. You have have shown your fearlessness, by linking yourself to me- again! (Sorry could not stay, my older boy was sick that day and even sicker later! Stomach bug).

    Seriously, your comments are spot on. That’s why I generally say a few things here and there, and then wait for you guys to really something helpful that is clearer or points out relevant scripture that I missed.

    I’d love to get more comments from other NazNet members besides you and me on this particular topic.

  9. I was just thinking that it was funny when a bunch of naz netters came over here with kudos (like seagulls on a french fry) when you spoke out against Glen Becks false religion ie Mormonism.
    But they remain quiet about the topic of this false teacher.
    Could it be that they didnt have as much problem with Glen Becks religion as much as him being a conservative?
    Not to throw these comments off topic.
    Only an observation on my part of the hypocrisy of Naz Net.
    Tim

  10. Tim,

    That observation is quite reasonable, having seen a lot of comments here. I had been thinking somewhere along the same lines myself. That was quite strange and unexpected, to get compliments about my stance on Glenn Beck. I thought they all knew me well by now, that backing down or compromising- to anybody- is not our thing!

    I have invited any NazNetter to comment on McDaniel at any time, for the record. Like seagulls on french fries, perhaps!

  11. When was this invitation extended, Manny? I remember just the opposite. You recently updated your “About” page to say that those who disagree with you are no longer welcome to comment.

  12. On many evangelical Christian campuses, there is an emphasis on social justice and good works instead of evangelism and righteous living. False teachers cleverly teach some true doctrine and include false teachings with it. Many Christian schools preach Christian Humanitarianism, not “Christ crucified.” Students are not taught the Truth – the doctrine of the Cross of Christ. Instead they are indoctrinated with the false gospel of Christian Humanitarianism.

    I witnessed this crusade for Christian Humanitarianism while visiting my alma mater last year – Southeastern University of the Assemblies of God in Lakeland, Florida. Many students were wearing t-shirts crusading against poverty in Africa. During chapel, a special offering was collected to fight human trafficking. Outside the cafeteria, tables were set up collecting money for another social cause. Southeastern is not a Christ-centered school. The School is not crusading for Christ, but crusading for man – Christian Humanitarianism. Southeastern is a man-centered school.

    Excerpts from “Enemies of the Cross of Christ” @
    http://www.libertyadvocate.com/Enemies%20of%20the%20Cross%20of%20Christ.htm

    Karen Pansler-Lam, J.D.
    Liberty Advocate

  13. Rich,
    Here is part one of my Rules:

    1. This blog is not for lengthy debates. It is primarily for two purposes: warning and equipping Bible believing Christians with information about the false teachings invading our churches,particularly through the emergent church movement, and to serve as a resource for advice or encouragement to those who have experienced harm as a result of false teachers’s attacks, or having to leave a church due to unbiblical teachings. If you are constantly disagreeing with everything here, just read and move on to somewhere else where you can debate, or better yet, prayerfully consider the information. Those who I clearly know support unbiblical teachings, especially arising from emergent church ideology, will not be welcome to comment and spread any more emergent church or other false teaching here. It’s nothing personal, this is just not the place anymore for that kind of nonsense.

    The operative words are: not for lengthy debate, and constantly disagreeing- over and ver, is perhaps what I should have said.

    Also, I said I will not tolerate the spreading of emergent ideology here, which basically means- no lengthy dialogs filled with the usual stuff I have heard over and over, and have no basis in scripture.
    (Example: I will no longer approve a statement that might say “well, prayer labyrinths are not expressly forbidden in the Bible, so they are up to the individual to decide.” False stuff like that.

    So I invite emergent leaning people to comment on Dr. McDaniel’s lecture and let me know if they think he is a false teacher or not. That’s all. If they don’t post here, that’s fine too.

  14. Manny, I was really shocked by this video the first time I saw it. After the emotional shock I started to listen to what Dr. Jay McDaniel was trying to say.

    The premise of Dr. Jay McDaniel’s opening statement is false. He said, “I was interested in Merton I wanted to be a Christian with roots and wings”…. “a metaphor for a way of being Christian that is so tied to a tradition or set of beliefs that they become a box…. and you can’t learn anything new…. you can’t look outside the box. So I went looking for writers that would give me an image of a more open kind of Christianity. I encountered Merton who was open to truth where ever he could find it.”

    Here we have the post modern rebellious Christian leader who considers himself Christian and throws out the tenets of Christianity. He uses a false premise in his search for truth as a Christian. As Mohler told Professor Karl Giberson, “I greatly regret that you have committed yourself to a cause that I can see as incompatible with the Scripture and destructive to the Christian faith.”

    The following Bible verse describes those who seek the Lord with all their heart and “meditate” on God’s perfect laws vs frustrating restrictive boxes, “Then I would not be put to shame when I consider all your commands”.

    Psalm 119:1-8
    1 Blessed are they whose ways are blameless,
    who walk according to the law of the LORD.
    2 Blessed are they who keep his statutes
    and seek him with all their heart.
    3 They do nothing wrong;
    they walk in his ways.
    4 You have laid down precepts
    that are to be fully obeyed.
    5 Oh, that my ways were steadfast
    in obeying your decrees!
    6 Then I would not be put to shame
    when I consider all your commands.
    7 I will praise you with an upright heart
    as I learn your righteous laws.
    8 I will obey your decrees;
    do not utterly forsake me.

  15. Thanks Pam. I love this verse in the same chapter, it seems to apply to you as well:

    Psalm 119:99 I have more insight than all my teachers,
    for I meditate on your statutes.

    If only people like Jay McDaniel and a host of these emergent pastors and professors would humble themselves and just read God’s word, instead of Thomas Merton.

  16. I am so glad God is the final judge on who will spend eternity with him. None of us as mortals can judge who will or who will not be with God in his Kingdom. God is perfect justice and perfect mercy. I think we will all be pretty surprised at who will be our Heavenly neighbors. Praise God and his infinite mercy!

  17. I don’t understand Jeannine. Are you saying you have no opinion as to the biblical truth or untruth being spoken by Jay McDaniel? Are we not called as Christians to be discerning, and to “beware of false prophets”, as Jesus Himself commanded?

  18. I think you’re taking this out of context. You’re not focusing on the main issue behind the lecture. You’re taking elements that SUPPORT major points, and viewing those supporting points as major points.

  19. Lisa,
    It seems you need to see the entire lecture. However, I can assure you, NOTHING here is taken out of context. There is no doubt what this man believes and teaches. He is a self professing universalist, a panentheist, and he is a false teacher. In fact, based on his testimony, he is not a Christian, if he believes that a Hindu can go to heaven without repenting and believing in Christ.
    Why don’t you see the entire view, then come back and report if you think its still out of context.

Comments are closed.